Appointments / Reappointments to the Dental Council of NSW

Members of the Dental Council of NSW (Council) are appointed by Her Excellency the Governor of NSW. Following a call for Expressions of Interest, selection panels were established, independent of the Council, to identify suitable candidates who had expressed interest in a Council position. Suitable candidates were put forward for consideration by the Minister for Health and final approval by the Governor.

As a result of this, the Council is pleased to advise of the following appointments/reappointments from 1 July 2023:

New appointment – President (Bio below)
Conjoint Professor Deborah Cockrell AM (Dentist)

Deputy President
Dr Kavita Lobo (Dentist)

Reappointments - Members
Dr John Pearman (Dentist)

Ms Jebby Phillips (Community Member)

Members currently appointed to the Council:
Associate Professor Melanie Aley (Dental Hygienist)

Dr Christine Biscoe (Dentist)

Mr Christiaan Claassens (Dental Prosthetist)

Dr Peter Duckmanton (Dentist involved in conducting approved programs of study in the dental profession)

Mrs Amita Kant (Lawyer)

Dr Vaishnavi Parimalanathan (Dentist)

Dr Colyn Pavey (Dentist)

Ms Dianne Sales (Community Member)

On 30 April 2023, Clinical Associate Professor F. Shane Fryer OAM ended his maximum term of nine years on the Council as President and member.

The Council would like to extend its gratitude to Clinical Associate Professor Fryer for his leadership, his service to the Council, and for his contribution to public safety over this period. 

Bio – Conjoint Professor Deborah Cockrell AM

Conjoint Professor Deborah (Deb) Cockrell is a UK trained Specialist Oral Surgeon who migrated to Australia in 1996.

Deb has significant experience in teaching at undergraduate and postgraduate levels in Australia and overseas and has worked in various academic roles. She completed her PhD at the University of Sydney on the area of reflective learning and its impact on the rural dental experience. She has also researched self-perceived oral health needs in rural and remote communities in New South Wales. 

Deb was the Inaugural Head of Discipline of Oral Health at the University of Newcastle and recently returned to the University as Acting Head of Discipline. She has also held leadership roles in the public sector, including Director (Oral Health) at the Centre for Education and Research in Ageing and Director of Oral Health Services for Torres and Cape Hospital and Health Service.

Deb has worked in private practice throughout her career and was a successful practice owner on the Central Coast of NSW.

She has held several leadership roles within the dental profession including being first female President of the Australian Dental Association (NSW Branch) and Chair of the Australian Dental Council. She is particularly proud of her contributions to mentoring and peer support over several years.

Deb has held Directorships in other Not for Profit companies and has served as Deputy President of the Dental Council in 2013-14, following which she has worked as a Council Professional Officer and Authorised Person since December 2020. Her various professional contributions were recognised in the 2022 Australia Day Honours list.